Browse this list of campus and community resources that can help you access free or low-cost mental health care.

KU Campus Resources

  • Counseling & Psychological Services (CAPS)

    The KU Counseling & Psychological Services (CAPS) office provides individual and group counseling services to assist with psychological, interpersonal, family problems, and other issues related to succeeding at the university. There is a cost associated with appointments - see fees outlined on their website.

  • KU Child & Family Services Clinic

    The mission of the Child & Family Services Clinic is to provide affordable, quality mental health care to the children, adolescents, and families of Northeast Kansas, including Lawrence, Eudora, Baldwin, Topeka, and the Kansas City Metro Area. This includes reduced-cost therapy sessions and testing for ADHD and learning disabilities at discounted rates for KU students.

  • KU Psychological Clinic

    The KU Psychological Clinic provides affordable mental health services for the Lawrence community. Reduced rates are provided for KU students.

  • KU Positive Psychotherapy Clinic

    The Center for Psychoeducational Services at KU is offering online therapy for adults living in Kansas experiencing depression, anxiety, and general life concerns. Clients will receive 9 sessions with a focus on client strengths and building hope. These sessions will be provided at no cost by students and faculty in the Counseling Psychology programs.

  • My Student Support Program (My SSP)

    Counseling and Psychological Services partners with My SSP to support you when you need it, from wherever you are. Through My SSP, students have access to free and confidential mental health counseling and well-being resources at any time of day, from anywhere in the world, 365 days a year.

Community Resources

  • Bert Nash Community Mental Health Center

    The Bert Nash Center is a nonprofit community mental health organization offering a variety of outpatient services to the Lawrence and Douglas County community. Fees for services vary according to insurance, income, and services provided. Generally, fees for services are comparable to or lower than the cost of similar services through private agencies.

  • Family Psychological Services

    With fifteen therapists, a psychiatric nurse practitioner, and one office cat, Family Psychological Services is the largest mental health clinic in Douglas County. They specialize in working with late teens and young adults, providing evaluation, and in-house medication management for anxiety, depression, ADHD, college adjustment, relationship and sexuality, adverse childhood experience, family difficulty, and life and career planning. They offer a Spravato (Esketamine) clinic for treatment resistant depression. They take BCBS, Aetna, United, and Cigna insurance plans. Request an intake by clicking on the Ask About Services button at

  • Headquarters Counseling Center

    The Headquarters Counseling Center is the Kansas location for the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. The Kansas headquarters provides free emotional support to the state of Kansas by phone, online, and in person. 24/7 Support Line: 785-841-2345

  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline

    The 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline (formerly known as the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline) provides 24/7, free and confidential support for people in suicidal crisis or emotional distress, prevention and crisis resources for you or loved ones, and nest practices for professionals. 988 24/7 Lifeline: Call 988

  • The Sexual Trauma & Abuse Care Center

    The STA Care Center provides 24/7 support to all people affected by sexual trauma and abuse in Douglas, Franklin, and Jefferson counties. Services include free counseling, support groups and advocacy.

  • The Willow Domestic Violence Care Center

    The Willow Domestic Violence Center builds safer communities through services, shelter, and support to survivors of domestic violence and human trafficking in Douglas, Franklin, and Jefferson counties. All services are free to county residents.